Suite in G (1700)
Last updated: 19.12.19
Composer: J. Fischer Suppliers:  
Editor: Walter Bergmann Solo D(T)/Piano
Publisher: Schott & Co. Ltd. Publication: Schott RMS 504
This "Suite in G" by Johann Fischer was amongst the first purchases that I made whilst still a young Petty Officer on H.M.S. Victorious in April 1965. According to the editor's notes this suite is No. 2 of four and published 1699/1700 in Dresden under the title "Musicalisch Divertissement, bestehend in einigen Ouverturen und Suiten/ mit 2. Stimmen auff Violin/ Hautbois oder Fleutes douces zu gebrauchen". The suite compises an Overture, Entrée, Menuet I, Menuet II, Rigaudon, Bourée, Menuet II and Menuet IV. It is a relatively easy piece, best played with a tenor recorder for my taste, which I have always hoped one day to play.