Suite No. 1 in C
Last updated: 19.12.19
Composer: G. Finger Suppliers:  
Editor: Walter Bergmann Trio A/A/A
Publisher: Schott & Co. Ltd. Publication: Schott RMS 1198
This "Suite No. 1 in C" by Godfrey Finger is one of several works which I purchased in June 1983 and were intended to be used by The Schwanewede Recorder Consort. I remember spending a fair amount of time working through it, the score is liberally sprinkled with various pencilled remarks. A fairly competent level was achieved but we never played it publicly. This item has languished, unplayed in my collection ever since. Its most recent airing was only a few days ago (February 2000) when members of the Alt-Aumund Blockflötenensemble were looking for material. It was rejected because it is scored for three trebles. Pity.
The suite has four movements: Andante con moto, Fast (sic), Minuet and Vivace. The editor Walter Bergmann notes that its source is A Collection of choice Ayres for two and three Treble Flutes. Airs 27-30 form this suite. The original is held in Magdelene College, Cambridge. This is a relatively simple piece and should present no problems for intermediate players.
Today (2001), this item is published together with "Suite No. 2 in G" in one volume as .