Suite No. 8
Last updated: 19.12.19
Composer: J.H. Schein Suppliers:  
Editor: René Colwell Quintet D/D/A/T/B
Publisher: Schott & Co. Ltd. Publication: Schott RMS 734
This "Suite No. 8" by J.H. Schein is one of several works which I purchased in June 1983 and were intended to be used by the "Klingende Runde für jung und alt". This one was never played by that group but was eventually played a few times in the mid-1990's by Blue Tuesday.
It has five dances: Padouana (à 5), Gagliarda (à 5), Courente (à 5), Allemande (a `4) and Tripla (à 4), all of which are relatively easy to play. They have a pleasant renaissance "sound"; the 1st descant can be replaced with a sopranino which makes them less "squeaky" with inexperienced (or insensitive) players.