John Hawkes  (1942-)
Last updated: 02.04.23
According to the Internet source given below, John Hawkes read physics at Magdalen College Oxford before being a Postgraduate Researcher at the University of Sheffield. He then moved to Newcastle upon Tyne Polytechnic lecturing physics. On retirement in 1997 and was made an Honorary Research Fellow.
Self-taught, he plays recorder, flute and oboe which he presently (2012) with the Tynedale and the 'Cobweb' Orchestras.Although initially self taught as far as composition is concerned, between 1994 to 2005, he attended composition classes at COMA (Contemporary Music Making for Amateurs) summer schools given by Michael Parsons, Diana Burrell, Daryl Runswick, Michael Finnissy, Stephen Montague, Deirdre Gribbin and John Woolrich. In December 2001 after two years part time study at the University of Newcastle he was awarded the degree of MMus (composition) his composition tutors being Agustin Fernandez and Deirdre Gribbin.
Also presently (2012), he is chairman of the Newcastle branch of the Society of Recorder Players (SRP), on the panel of visiting conductors for the SRP and conductor of the The North East Recorder Orchestra.
url15.gif The Music of John Hawkes Composer's homepage.  
     Title Instruments Remarks
sm15.gif Suite Pastorale D/A/T/B wvicon.gif