Planxty (1972-2005)
Last updated: 03.09.21
p_planxty.jpgAccording to the Internet source given below, Planxty was an Irish folk music band consisting initially of Christy Moore (vocals, acoustic guitar, bodhrán), Andy Irvine (vocals, mandolin, mandola, bouzouki, hurdy-gurdy, harmonica), Dónal Lunny (bouzouki, guitars, bodhrán, keyboards), and Liam O'Flynn (uilleann pipes, tin whistle).
Johnny Moynihan, Paul Brady, Matt Molloy (flute), Bill Whelan (keyboards), Nollaig Casey (fiddle) and, briefly, Noel Hill (concertina) and Tony Linnane (fiddle) were also temporary members.Planxty broke up twice, first in 1975 and again in 1983. The original quartet reunited in 2003.
url15.gif Planxty Biography by  

     Title Remarks Supplier
cd15.gif  Planxty   CD(s) & MP3 Album(s) flag15us.gif flag15uk.gif flag15de.gif flag15fr.gif flag15ca.gif flag15it.gif flag15es.gif
     Title Composer/Song
youtube15.jpg Planxty - Christy Moore - Cliffs Of Dooneen (3:40) Cliffs of Doneen
youtube15.jpg Raggle Taggle Gypsy/Tabhair dom do laimh - 1973 (4:29) The Wraggle Taggle Gypsies
youtube15.jpg Sally Brown - Planxty 1980 Abbey Tavern (3:00) Sally Brown