Suite For Descant and Piano
Last updated: 19.12.19
Composer: A. Hopkins Suppliers: smp_unav15.gif  
Editor: Solo D/Piano
Publisher: Schott & Co. Ltd. Publication: Schott Ed 10339
This "Suite for Descant and Pianor" by Anthony Hopkins was amongst the first purchases that I made whilst still a young Petty Officer on H.M.S. Victorious in January 1965. It has four movements namely: Prelude, Scherzo, Canon, Jig; and is dedicated to Walter Bergmann. This is a fairly jolly piece of contemporary recorder music with no great technical difficulties in the recorder part. The Scherzo is quite a bit of fun where there is a "triologue" between the left and right piano hands together with the recorder. The piano part also has four consecutive bars of "quintlets" just to liven things up a bit.
The Jig is also great with several changes of 6/8 to 9/8 and vice versa with loads of triplets. All in all, a lively piece.